Remembering Sam

This story of remarkable achievements is told by people closely associated with Sam in different stages and in different ways in his life – as colleagues, friends and family. Contributors include politicians Alistair Darling and Brian Wilson, Muriel Gray, Sir Harry Burns, Harpreet Kholi, and many others.

Presented by Sir Graham Teasdale.

6b1ee003-023c-4887-8718-e410c7e07e80

Remembering Sam

Long before he was a front-line politician, Sam Galbraith was a man who inspired respect and sometimes awe among those whose lives he touched.

 A brilliant Glasgow neurosurgeon whose cutting-edge skills saved numerous lives; an unswerving champion of the National Health Service and the principles which underpin it;  a fearless mountaineer who diced with danger.

When at the peak of his powers, Sam was struck by illness and came within days of death before receiving a lung transplant. Many years later, he was believed to be the world’s longest surviving lung transplant patient.

In 1987, he had become a Labour politician, believing that by utilising his knowledge and beliefs in this way, they could have the greatest lasting impact. He was an MP and then MSP, holding Ministerial office at both Westminster and Holyrood. In everything Sam did, he made a difference.

 Sam died in 2014 at the age of 68 but his many legacies live on. This book recalls his life and work – as a doctor, mountaineer, politician and family man. It follows his journey from Greenock to Westminster and Holyrood with diversions along the way to outposts such as Texas and the Himalayas.

 It will serve not only as a collective tribute to an outstanding individual but also as an inspiration to those who aspire to following the paths he trod.

Saturday 24 September 6.00pm

Scottish Maritime Museum, Linthouse Building

Tickets £5 – Book here

All proceeds of ticket and book sales go to Transplant Sport

David Ross with BBC’s Theresa Talbot

Fresh from his tour of Germany, David Ross talks about The Last Days of Disco and his new book The Rise and Fall of the Miraculous Vespas. Both are set in 1980s Ayrshire. In conversation with Theresa Talbot – promises to be witty, entertaining, and “the closest you’ll ever get to being on Top of the Pops”

disco

The Last Days of Disco is about the power of the 45rpm vinyl record and the small but significant part it played in an Ayrshire community in 1982. A simply stunning debut novel.

‘Full of comedy, pathos and great tunes’ Hardeep Singh Kohli

‘Warm, funny and evocative. If you grew up in the Eighties, you’re going to love this’ Chris Brookmyre

Saturday 24 September 2.00pm – 3.00pm

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Get your tickets in person, by phone 01294 274059 or click here

Catherine Czerkawska

A luscious historical novel, The Jewel brings to glorious life the dramatic years of Jean Armour and Robert Burns’ courtship, and their tempestuous, passionate married life, against a background simmering with political intrigue and turmoil. Jean, a beautiful young woman with the voice of a nightingale, set young Rab’s heart aflame from the first. Jean’s father tried to protect her from the advances of the mercurial ploughman-poet, whose roving eye was notorious. But she would not be kept from him. Their marriage endured against all odds, its rocky course revealing Jean’s indomitable strength and character. How Jean lived with – and frequently without – her famous husband is surely Scotland’s greatest love story.

Spend an hour with Catherine Czerkawska and find out how she discovered the secrets behind this fascinating relationship.

d46f0709-aefd-42b5-86e8-4f8554a95b72

The Jewel

The story of Robert Burns’ wife,

Jean Armour.

Sunday 25 September at 1.30pm

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Blood, Salt, Water

Salt water lifts blood. Only salt water.

Loch Lomond is a mile deep but the woman’s body surfaced anyway. Found bludgeoned and dumped in the water, she now haunts Iain Fraser, the man who put her there. She trusted him and now that misplaced trust is gnawing through Iain’s chest. He thinks it will kill him.

28e7d333-29b2-4497-af17-9fb7b85b33c5

Only £5 for a spine-chilling hour spent in the company of award-winning author Denise Mina.

Sunday 25 September at 7.00pm

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Tidelines 2016 launched

Press, media, sponsors and friends came to the Harbour Arts Centre for the official launch of our 2016 brochure. Publisher and author Keith Charters, the Festival Chairman, announced this year’s line up of events as being “the best ever”. From crime to comedy, history to satire, with a generous sprinkling of sports personalities – there’s something for everyone. There’s even a world premiere in the Harbour Theatre. Children are not left out, with a programme of author visits to schools, as well as a family event featuring Mrs Mash, the storytelling cook.

All events last about an hour, so there’s plenty of time to take in more than one, and value-for-money seats mean that you have no excuses. Tickets are selling fast – don’t get left behind!

9037be8e-90aa-4fdd-85f1-ca360162a2d2Keith Charters heads the Tidelines volunteers who are working hard to bring you North Ayrshire’s independent book festival.

 

 

98de7cba-68eb-427c-964b-33dd0b68b15f

Our new brochure will be popping up everywhere soon, look out for it! or click on the picture →

 

 

43aaf732-54bf-47a5-9aa7-b15463810428

Award-winning crime writer Douglas Skelton spoke of his writing about true-life murderers and criminals, as well as his fictional books about Glasgow’s underworld.

The Rise and Fall of the Miraculous Vespas

David Ross in conversation with Theresa Talbot

Saturday 24 September 2.00pm in Harbour Arts Centre

Tickets £5 from HAC or on Ticketweb

the riseWhen a young Ayrshire band miraculously hits the big time with the smash hit record of 1984, international stardom beckons. That’s despite having a delusional teenage manager propelled by a dark, malign voice in his head. Can Max Mojo’s band of talented social misfits repeat the success and pay back the mounting debts accrued from an increasingly agitated cartel of local gangsters? Or will they have to kidnap Boy George and hope for the best? (www.goodreads.com)

If you love crime writers, here’s 4 of the best

Four of the best of Scotland’s crime writers are coming to Tidelines.
23-25 September – keep those dates free if you dare!
Tickets available soon.

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before the publication of his award-winning debut Quite Ugly One Morning, which established him as one of Britain’s leading crime novelists.

His new psychological thriller Black Widow, starring the legendary Jack Parlabane, is perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

There is no perfect marriage.

There is no perfect murder.

Image 05-07-2016 at 23.11 

Saturday

24 September 7.30pm

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Tickets £8

Into the Heart of Darkness

Modern crime fiction is said to hold up a mirror to the problems of modern society. Two of Scotland’s up-and-coming voices, Douglas Skelton and

Michael J Malone, discuss how this point of view is reflected in their writing . . . and how an injection of humour can lighten the darkness.

Image 05-07-2016 at 23.12 

Saturday

24 September 4.30pm

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Tickets £5

Blood Salt Water

Denise Mina‘s first novel, Garnethill, published in 1998, won the Crime Writers Association John Creasy Dagger for Best Fisrt Crime Novel. She now has 12 novels published and in 2014 she was inducted into the Crime Writers’ Association Hall of Fame. Denise comes to Irvine to talk about Blood Salt Water,  her crime novel set in Helensburgh. She is coming to explain why she set it in Helensburgh . . . and not in Irvine.

Image 05-07-2016 at 23.14

Sunday 25 September 7.00pm

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Tickets £5

From Japan to Tidelines – the varied life of a BBC sports presenter

John Beattie, BBC sports presenter

John

Currently in Japan for the Scotland v Japan rugby test series, John Beattie will be coming to Tidelines to talk about his life and his passion for sport.

John Beattie played 25 times for Scotland at rugby and toured twice with the British and Irish Lions. He was recently voted Scotland’s best ever Number 8 by his peers.

He now presents the lunch time news programme on BBC Radio Scotland, fronts documentaries on TV and radio, and commentates for TV and radio on rugby and other sports.

Don’t miss out!

Sunday 25 September, 3.00pm
Harbour Arts Centre
£8.00

Get on yer bike to Tidelines Book Festival

Fantastic news for this year’s festival. We’re so excited! 

africa

Mark Beaumont has become a household name for his record breaking feats of endurance and BBC documentaries. Africa Solo is the story Cairo to Cape Town, 10,000km against the clock, taking 18 days off the previous fastest time, through the Sahara desert, the Ethiopian Highlands and great savannahs of the likes of Tanzania and South Africa. Since The Man who Cycled the World, nearly 10 years ago, Mark has taken on expeditions in the high mountains, the Arctic and across the oceans, but is happiest of all with life on two wheels!

SAVE THE DATE: FRIDAY 23 SEPTEMBER at 7.30pm
MAGNUM THEATRE, IRVINE

28caa8a3-34ad-49bb-9d32-42b4b9cf21b6

The Top 3 Most Shareable Quotes from Books Revealed

outlander

“I am your master… and you’re mine. Seems I canna possess your soul without losing my own.”

Outlander Vol. 1, Diana Gabaldon

sunset

“You hated the land and the coarse speak of the folk and learning was brave and fine one day and the next you’d waken with the peewits crying across the hills, deep and deep, crying in the heart of you and the smell of the earth in your face, almost you’d cry for that, the beauty of it and the sweetness of the Scottish land and skies.”

Sunset Song, Lewis Grassic Gibbon

dahl

“A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”

The Twits, Roald Dahl

 

From the Scottish Book Trust website: www.scottishbooktrust.com